The Offline Mode sections allows you to work offline and then sync your files back to the central repository.

Offline mode

Synergy Drive is designed for the needs of large organizations with billions of files and folders. Consequently, the Offline Mode is designed differently than that of consumer cloud storage products. Users are only allowed to keep a small number of files offline for security and compliance reasons, and the specific details are defined by company policy.

In the File Explorer section, users can select the files they would like to keep in the local computer by selecting the files, right-clicking on the items, and selecting: "Save for offline mode". The files are downloaded to the local computer, showing a sync icon while they download, and when completed, a green bubble indicates that those files are available for offline mode.

When the Drive applications detects that it is offline, a message appears in the Drive application and gives the option to go to the Offline Mode section.

In the Offline Mode section, in the Offline files sub-section, the user can browse and open the files that have been saved for offline mode.

Once the user opens, edits and files and clicks on save, that file will appear on the Pending uploads sub-section. The user can open and edit that offline file as many times as needed while offline, and once the user gets back online, the file will be automatically uploaded to Synergy Cloud and will be saved as a Draft version. The user then can save it as a version from the versions tab.

User can remove files from offline mode by right clicking on them and seelcting: "Online mode only".

When a user is going to be offline and would like to edit a specific file during that time (e.g. when the user is going to work during a flight), the recommended course of action is to save the file for offline mode, and then to manually lock the file.

After right-clicking on the file, the user can select lock and a screen will provide the option to include an option lock message. That way, the user can make sure that no one else will work on that file at the same time, will provide other users with the context on why they cannot work on that file in that moment, and will avoid any version conflicts that appear when two users work an the same file at the same time.

Cache files

In the Cache files sub-section, the users can see the most recent files that have been opened in that computer.Those files are downloaded in a cache directory, to improve performance when reopening the same file. Cache files policies are defined by company policy for security and compliance reasons. The Cache files are automatically deleted by the application, but can also be deleted manually by selecting the items, right-clicking and selecting "Online mode only".

Pending uploads

The Pending uploads sub-section shows the file that have been edited while offline. Once the computer is back online, those files will be uploaded to Synergy Cloud and saved as draft versions.