Synergy has advanced file version control to provide seamless collaboration with anyone while maintaining file integrity.

The version control system has the following elements:

File locking

We want to resolve the common problem of sync issues and file conflicts. For that reason Synergy Drive allows you to lock files, and stops multiple individuals from editing a file simultaneously, which lies at the root of the problem. Any Microsoft office file that is opened on Synergy drive, will be automatically locked. Once you complete editing a file, save and close the relevant Microsoft Office application. The file is automatically unlocked. This is designed to aid your workflow.

It is also possible to lock files "on-demand" when you are not working on Microsoft Office files (for example, to edit a picture with Photoshop). Locking files on-demand is also very useful when working in Offline mode. When you are going to work offline (you are taking a flight or find yourself in a location without internet connection) you may want to lock a Microsoft Office file on-demand to avoid version conflicts with others that might also want to work on that file. In those situations we would recommend leaving a comment in the comments field of the drive so that collaborators are made aware of the context and why the file is locked.

You can also unlock your own files on demand, or use the force unlock function to unlock files from other users. If you force unlock a document, an email notification will automatically be sent to that user.

Versions

Synergy provides version control on all your files. Files can be saved as 3 different versions:

  • Draft: this is the default method. Files in draft are overwritten as soon as you manually choose to save the file. The draft then becomes a minor or major versions (see below)
  • Minor version: denoted by the last two digits after the major version number, e.g. version 1.05. This is typically used when the file has had small changes, is not completed or still work in progress.
  • Major version: represent the number before the dot and represent completion of the file or that significant changes have been made to it.

The Versions tabs shows all the versions of the file. Files can have the following types of versions:

Draft

Whenever you open a file on Synergy Drive and save your progress, the file will be saved as a draft by default and be named accordingly. For example, imagine you open a file that is currently denoted as "Version 1.00" and you start editing it and wish to save your progress. Once you successfully save the work a pop-up will appear in the bottom right of your screen, which gives you the option of saving a minor or major version, should you not yet wish to do so, the file will automatically be saved as "Version 1.00 Draft". Each time you repeat the same savings process the draft version will be overwritten, so that there is never more than one draft version of the file.

Minor version

Minor versions are saved after the major version and are denoted by a change in the number after the decimal point. For example, if you make edits to a file that was in "Version 1.00" and save your changes as a minor version, Synergy Drive will save this new version as "Version 1.01". Minor versions are intended to represent smaller or less significant changes to the files. In professional services firms, minor versions are often used as versions or progress updates that are shared with internal team members so they can review, provide comments and make further edits. For every major version you can have up to 99 minor versions (e.g. "Version 1.99").

Major version

Major versions represent the number before the decimal point, and represent the completion of significant changes to a file. In professional services firms, major versions are often used to track the files that have been shared with clients or other external parties.