Synergy has powerful and easy to use internal sharing and permissions features.
Internal users are user accounts created and managed by your company administrators in your company Admin Center. Any internal user can view the list of all internal users in a company repository from the Sharing Tab in the root of the repository:
You can give permissions to internal users by inviting them to a folder when they need edit permissions and persistent access to the content. By default, new internal users have no permissions at all so when they log in they will se an empty repository.
After creating a new internal user in the Admin Center, company administrators or any other internal users can give them access to:
The root folder provides the maximum permission level. When a root folder administrator invites a user to the root, they will be able to see all the children folders, expect private folders.
When you are invited to a folder, you will be able to see the tree structure from the root folder to the folder you have been invited, but you will not be able to see any content (files or folders) in the tree, only in the folder where you have been invited.
There are several roles with associated permission levels for people within your organization. You can find more information about the different roles in Roles for users and groups. Please note that the list of available roles are defined by company policy according to your company security and compliance requirements. For this reason, some of these roles might not be available to you if they have been limited by your company administrators.
Shortcuts are private links to easily reference and locate files in your repository. You can create a shortcut by selecting a file or folder, right click on it, and selecting Copy Private shortcut. You can share this link with anyone in your organization, and if they have permissions to see that file, the link will open in Synergy Drive and go directly to the file.
Shortcuts do not create or provide permissions, they only refer to specific files and folders. If you send a shortcut to someone in your company who do not have access to a folder, when they try to open they will see a message saying that they do not have permissions.
Let's review together an example where only two roles are available, to better understand sharing and the waterfall permission inheritance.
In this example we only have two roles:
- Admins: they can edit folder permissions, inviting and removing internal users
- Users: they can browse the folder and edit files
Permissions follow a waterfall inheritance by default:
- Admins: always have access to children folders
- Users: can access children folders unless the creator of that child folder has made it private
For example, we have three people in an organization:
- Anna: she's the admin of the root folder. Anna will always be admin on all folders created in the repository, following the waterfall inheritance. In the root folder there are 3 folders: "Admin", "Clients", and "Finance"
- Jack: he has been added as an user to the folder "Clients", which is under the root folder. In the "Clients" folder, there are many subfolders with the names of clients.
- Charlotte: she has been added as an user to the folder "Clients". She creates a new folder in "Clients" named "Project Omega" and has marked the folder as private. Then Charlotte has invited Claire to "Project Omega"
In this case:
- Anna is an admin in all folders (following the waterfall inheritance) and can see the content everywhere.
- Jack can see the folder "Clients" and edit all files there. He can also see all sub-folders in "Clients". He can access all sub-folders except those marked as private. he can see that a folder named "Project Omega" exists in "Clients" but cannot access it to browse its contents.
- Claire can see the folder structure as Root/Clients/Project Omega, however she sees the folder "Clients" almost empty, with only "Project Omega" inside. All the names of the folders inside "Clients" are hidden for her.