File version control
Synergy has advanced file version control to provide seamless collaboration with anyone while maintaining file integrity. The version control system has the following elements:
Tired of sync issues and file conflicts? With Synergy Drive you can lock files to avoid conflicts when two people try to edit the same file at the same time. Microsoft Office files are automatically locked when you open a file, and automatically unlocked when you close it, to make the daily workflow easier.
Additonally, you can lock files on demand for non-Microsft Office files (for example, to edit a picture with Photoshop). Locking fileson demand is also very useful for Offline mode. When you are going to work offline (you are taking a flight) you might want to lock a Microsoft Office file on demand to avoid conflicts with anyone else.
You can also unlock your own files on demand, or use Force Unlock to unlock files from other users. If you use Force Unlock, an email will be send to that user automatically to notify them.
Synergy provides version control on all your files. Files can be saved as 3 different versions:
- Draft: this is the default method. Files in draft are always overwritten.
- Minor version: denoted by the last two digits after the major version number, e.g. version 1.05.
- Major version: represent the number before the dot and represent completion of significant changes in a file.
The Versions tabs shows all the versions of the file. Files can have the following types of versions:
When a user saves a file, the file is saved to Synergy Cloud as a Draft. For example, if the file was in "Version 1.00" when the file was opened for editing, and a user saves the file, the current version of the file would be "Version 1.00 Draft". Everytime a user saves a file, the draft version is overwritten, so there is only one Draft version at any time.
After saving a file, when the file has been uploaded to Synergy Cloud, the user will see a notification in Windows and Mac, saying that the file has been saved as a draft and offering to save it as a version. When the user clicks on the notification, the user will have the option to save the file as a minor version or a major version.
Minor versions are the versions which are saved after the major version number, and are indicated after the separation dot. If the file was in "Version 1.00" when the file was opened for editing, when the user saves the file as a minor version, the new file will be "Version 1.01". Minor versions are intended as small steps in the edition of files. In professional services firms, minor versions are often used as versions to be shared with internal team members for their comments and review. Every major version can have up to 99 minor versions (e.g. "Version 1.99").
Major versions represent the number before the sepparation dot, and represent completion of significant changes in a file. In professional services firms, major versions are often used to track the files that have been shared with clients or other external parties.