Synergy is designed to make collaboration easy, both internally within your organization and externally with other companies.
Collaboration features are defined by company policy according to your security and compliance requirements. For this reason, some of these features might not be available to you if they have been limited by your company administrators. You can find more information about collaboration and permissions in the Admin Guide.
With Synergy, you have three options to share content within your organization.
There are two permissions levels for people within your organization:
- Admins: they can edit folder permissions, inviting and removing internal users
- Users: they can browse the folder and edit files
Permissions follow a waterfall inheritance by default:
- Admins: always have access to children folders
- Users: can access children folders unless the creator of that child folder has made it private
For example, we have three people in an organization:
Anna: she's the admin of the root folder. Anna will always be admin on all folders created in the repository, following the waterfall inheritance
Jack: he has been added as an user to the folder "Finance"
Charlotte: she has been added as an user to the folder "Finance". She creates a new folder in "Finance", "Project Omega" and has marked the folder as private
In this case, Anna is an admin in all folders and can see the content everywhere. Jack can only see the folder "Finance" and edit all files there. He can see that a folder named "Project Omega" exists in "Finance" but cannot browse its contents.
Shortcuts are private links to easily reference and locate files in your repository. You can create a shortcut by selecting a file or folder, right click on it, and selecting Private shortcut. You can share this link with anyone in your organization, and if they have permissions to see that file, the link will open in Synergy Drive and go directly to the file.
There are three options to share content with external collaborators:
You can send a shared link to a folder or file to anyone, providing them with read-only access through Synergy web interface to view and download the files. It provides the same functionality as sending files by email as attachments. By default, these links are valid for 30 days.
Invite to a folder
You can invite external collaborators to a folder when they need edit permissions and persistent access to the content. When you invite a collaborator, they will access that folder directly from their Synergy Drive application.
Invite to a file
You can invite external collaborators to specific files when they need edit permissions and persistent access to the content. The difference with the previous option, is that individual files appear in a pre-defined folder named "Shared files".